Galway #2

So here we go my second post about Galway, but it is even more special that it’s the last one I write while being in Ireland. You wouldn’t imagine how I’m torn apart right now ! I just fall in love with Galway, this is such a lively city. I will miss this special atmosphere that you surely can’t find in France. I will miss the pubs, the live music there, the buskers each time you go in town, the market, the university, the Sunday Open Mic at the Róisín, my nice spot on Long Walk, all the nice little cafés…

Galway-3GalwayGalway-2

Nous y voilà mon second article à propos de Galway, mais aussi le dernier que j’écris en Irlande. Mes escapades irlandaises se terminent et vous ne pouvez pas imaginer à quel point cela me déchire le cœur de partir. Je suis tombée amoureuse de cette ville, je sais qu’elle va me manquer, tout comme son ambiance si spéciale que je ne retrouverai sûrement pas en France, les pubs, la musique live qu’on y trouve, les gens qui jouent dans la rue chaque fois que l’on va en ville, le petit marché du samedi, l’université, l’Open Mic du dimanche soir au Róisín, mes moments sur le petit muret le long de Long Walk, les (nombreux) cafés que j’ai adoré…

Galway-16Galway-15Galway-14

This article doesn’t have a storyline really, it’s just pictures of places in Galway that I enjoyed going to and that thanksfully this second semester’s weather let me the chance to photograph, because let’s be honest those first few months of 2016 haven’t been the best ! These first pictures were taken along the river around the campus of NUIG, landscapes around the campus are quite scenic it is a really nice place to discover !

Cet article n’a pas vraiment d’histoire ou d’anecdote à raconter, ce sont simplement des photos d’endroits à Galway où j’aime me balader. Endroits que j’ai miraculeusement pu prendre en photo ce second semestre car soyons honnête la météo a été loin d’être clémente ces premiers mois de 2016. Ces premières photos ont été prises le long de la rivière aux alentours de l’université. Le campus de NUIG est longé par la rivière, c’est un endroit sympa pour se balader aussi !

Galway-11
The Secret Garden
Galway-13
The Secret Garden
Galway-12
The Secret Garden

A place I really like to go to is the Secret Garden, it is not far from where I live, on Sea Road, where there are actually lots of other nice pubs and restaurants. They have such a gigantic range of teas, the atmosphere is really nice and special there I love it ! I went there a few times for evening gigs it was lovely !

Un endroit que j’adore est le Secret Garden, c’est un petit salon de thé adorable, ils ont une collection de thé très impressionnante. Pas très loin d’où je vis, sur Sea Road, c’est un endroit à l’ambiance vraiment particulière, où j’ai passé de très bons moments, comme les quelques fois où ils avaient organisé de petits concerts.

Galway-9

A place I really liked was the Spanish Arch, well all this area around the Spanish Arch, where the river meets the bay. I always crossed the river there to go in town and the view is always breathtaking and evolving according to the time of the day. My “favourite spot” to seat and enjoy the landscape was along Long Walk on this little wall over the end of the river, not as much frequented as the Spanish Arch itself it was a peaceful place to enjoy the sunset which was so often phenomenal from there. Plus I really like Long Walk cause it’s in one of the first lines of the song Galway Girl.

Galway-22

Un de mes endroits préférés à Galway est autour du Spanish Arch. J’y passe tout le temps pour aller en ville et la vue est toujours superbe, et changeante selon le moment de la journée. Mon endroit préféré pour simplement profiter de la vue est le long de Long Walk sur le petit muret qui longe la rivière, l’endroit est moins fréquenté que le Spanish Arch lui même et il y a toujours des couchers de soleil magnifiques. En plus dans la chanson Galway Girl l’une des premières phrases parle de Long Walk !

Galway-17Galway-23Galway-8

After the Secret Garden I woud like to talk to you about those few places I liked to go during those 8 months in Galway, I tried as many cafés as I could, but some I liked more than others.

The first place I took a café in was Coffeewerk + Press, a friend of mine brought me there, it is not too big so the nice option is to take your coffee and enjoy it on the few chairs they have outside, it’s right in High Street, one of the nicest streets of Galway. There is the upstairs area where you can enjoy your coffee too, and it’s also a design shop/gallery. I don’t have pictures of the place from my camera but I have often put it on my instagram feed.

Après le Secret Garden j’aimerai vous partager les endroits dans lesquels j’aimais aller pendant ces 8 mois à Galway. J’ai essayé autant de petits cafés que j’ai pu mais voici mes endroits favoris.

Le premier endroit dans lequel j’ai pris un café à Galway s’appelle Coffeewerk + Press. Un ami habitant à Galway de longue date m’y avait emmené et c’est devenu un de mes cafés favoris. L’endroit n’est pas très grand, mais vous pouvez apprécier votre café sur leur petite terrasse,  il y a aussi deux étages très sympa où l’on peut déguster son café qui se trouvent être une sorte de galerie de design et vous pouvez acheter certaines choses exposées. Je n’ai pas de photos prises avec mon appareil de cet endroit mais je l’ai souvent mis sur instagram.

Galway-6Galway-10Galway-7

Other cafés that I really like are The Kitchen, next to the museum, and The Light House, on Abbeygate. They both do lunch and are both really good. The Light House is fully vegetarian, whereas The Kitchen have both vegetarian and non vegetarian options. Even though I am not a vegetarian, my diet is mostly made of vegetable and occasionnally meat, so I really enjoy their vegetarian options. The pictures below are from The Light House, you can find instagrams of The Kitchen on my feed. I once went to a cooking demonstration at the Light House, the chef of the café showed us how to built a vegan salad and load of really nice dishes that I sure will do at home. I was really happy about that demonstration it was really casual and interesting.

Deux autres cafés que j’aime beaucoup sont The Kitchen, collé au musée, et The Light House, sur Abbeygate Street. Ils sont tous les deux de très bons cafés qui proposent à manger pour le déjeuner. The Light House est uniquement végétarien, mais The Kitchen propose des plats végétariens mais aussi des plats avec de la viande. Bien que je ne sois pas végétarienne je mange principalement des légumes et à l’occasion de la viande, j’apprécie donc beaucoup leur carte. Les photos suivantes ont été prises à The Light House, vous pouvez trouvez des photos de The Kitchen sur mon instagram encore une fois. Il y a quelques semaines de cela j’ai participé à un atelier de cuisine à The Light House, la chef du café nous a montré comment réalisé une salade vegan et d’autres plats que je referai certainement. J’étais vraiment contente d’avoir participer à cet atelier, c’était très décontracté et intéressant.

Galway-20Galway-19Galway-18

But I couldn’t come to Ireland and only go to cafés, I had to try as many pubs at least ! Amongst some of my favourites pubs I really liked the Quays and the King’s Head for their atmosphere and the live music. The Quays is really special, it seems completely normal as you come in but once you go further you discover a chapel ! I enjoyed the Crane a lot, it’s one of Galway’s most traditional pubs. But what I clearly loved the most are the Róisín Dubh Open Mic Nights on Sundays, that pub is clearly one of the best to go out.

Bien sûr je n’ai pas passé mon année uniquement dans les cafés, je ne pouvais pas être en Irlande sans essayer une quantité de pub ! Parmi mes pubs préférés à Galway il y a King’s Head et The Quays, pour leur ambiance et leur musique. The Quays est vraiment spécial, lorsque l’on y rentre il paraît normal puis en avançant on y découvre une chapelle ! J’ai adoré The Crane sur Sea Road, c’est sûrement l’un des pubs les plus traditionnels de Galway. Mais ce que j’ai sûrement préféré ce sont les soirées Open Mic au Róisín Dubh, des volontaires viennent s’inscrire pour jouer de la musique ou faire de l’humour ce sont toujours de super soirée ! Ce “pub/club” est vraiment un endroit top pour sortir !

Galway-5Galway-4

Oh Galway I will sure miss you, and you’ll see me again.

Amandine

2 thoughts on “Galway #2

Leave a Reply

